Start Me Up

Greetings to those of you who have found my little corner of the blogosphere.  I am taking on an endeavor that, on the surface, seems quite daunting but will hopefully shed some light on the music industry’s rapidly changing (r)evolution.  The idea is to explore the ways in which bands and musicians communicate online, whether it be through social media, multimedia, or “what-have-you.”  For the sake of simplicity and brevity, I will refer to these channels of communication as “new media.”  This exploration will also be supported by a paper which is for a class that I am taking at the International University of Geneva.  Since the world of music is vast and deep, I will restrict the discussion to bands and musicians that either I enjoy or serve the purpose of defining or explaining my point(s).

Tonight I will have an opportunity to travel with three solo artists from Geneva, Switzerland to their gig in Lausanne, Switzerland in order to get their insight on how they use new media.  I will use this information to catapult into the ever changing world of the music industry.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

